Here is a little sneak preview of one of the events that will take place on the 21st of August, the 140th anniversary of the Apparition. Knock Museum has commissioned a unique and historic model of the village of Knock as it was in 1879. The village recreation is filled with miniature details of the old church, the houses that the witnesses lived in, schools, pathways and farmland. The detailed model is based on historical resources and maps of the day and is a fascinating insight into village life in Knock at the time.
The model will be unveiled on the 21st of August at 12 noon in St. John’s Rest and Care Centre, during a seminar entitled ‘Place, People and the Knock Apparition’. The speakers are renowned scholar and historian, Nollaig O’Muraíle, who is a native of the parish of Knock and Tom Neary, former Chief Steward at Knock Shrine and the author of many publications on the Knock Apparition.