The award-winning Knock Museum is open daily from 10am-6pm. Audio Guides are available in seven languages
Enquiries and bookings:
Tel: 094 93 75034
The Story of Knock began on the 21st August, 1879 when, at approximately 8 o’clock in the evening, fifteen people from the village of Knock in Co. Mayo, witnessed an Apparition of Our Lady, St. Joseph, St. John the Evangelist, a Lamb and cross on an altar at the gable wall of the Parish Church.The witnesses watched the Apparition in the pouring rain for two hours, reciting the Rosary. Although they themselves were saturated not a single drop of rain fell on the gable or vision. There were fifteen official witnesses to the Apparition, most of whom were from the village of Knock and surrounding areas and ranged in age from just 5 years old to 74 years old. Each of the witnesses gave testimonies to a Commission of Enquiry in October 1879. The findings of the Commission were that the testimonies were both trustworthy and satisfactory.
Visitors can read original hand-written letters by people cured at Knock and listen to pilgrims sharing stories and memories of Knock. The Apparition is also set in the context of life at that time, from living in the thatched house to working in the forge. At Knock Museum, visitors can read through the amazing stories of ordinary pilgrims in the ‘Diary of Cures’, a collection of original letters written to Archdeacon Cavanagh from 1879-1880.
Visitors are invited to step back in time to 1879, the year of the Apparition and explore what life at this time. Knock Shrine has a rich and fascinating history and has been shaped by a number of remarkable people. At Knock Museum, you can share in the experiences of the millions of pilgrims that have visited here through the years and learn of the ordinary people who witnessed the Apparition, an event that changed their lives and the village of Knock forever.
Knock Museum is fully Accredited in the Museum Standards Programme for Ireland
Knock Museum will host a series of public lectures in September & October focusing on family genealogy, folklore and local history. The first lecture entitled ‘Ordnance Survey Maps throughout the years focusing on unique and Local Maps’ will be facilitated by Thomas Broderick of Ordnance Survey Ireland.
The lectures will take place on 22 & 29 September and Saturday 6 October from 11am-1pm at Knock House Hotel.
To book, contact Knock Museum on (094) 93 75034 or email email@example.com Cost €10 per lecture.
Historic Image Gallery