Knock Museum captures the unique and compelling story of the Knock Apparition of 1879 and tells of the fifteen ordinary people who witnessed this extraordinary event.
Visitors can read original hand-written letters by people cured at Knock and listen to pilgrims sharing stories and memories of Knock. The Apparition is also set in the context of life at that time, from living in the thatched house to working in the forge. At Knock Museum, visitors can read through the amazing stories of ordinary pilgrims in the ‘Diary of Cures’, a collection of original letters written to Archdeacon Cavanagh from 1879-1880. Visitors are invited to step back in time to 1879, the year of the Apparition and explore what life at this time. Knock Shrine has a rich and fascinating history and has been shaped by a number of remarkable people. At Knock Museum, you can share in the experiences of the millions of pilgrims that have visited here through the years and learn of the ordinary people who witnessed the Apparition, an event that changed their lives and the village of Knock forever.
Knock Museum is fully Accredited in the Museum Standards Programme for Ireland
Upcoming Event: Saturday 20th May
To celebrate National Drawing Day 2017, Bernie Prendergast will conduct an art workshop at Knock Museum on Saturday 20 May from 3-5pm. The workshop is open to all adults (@ €15) and children 10+ (@ €10) and this year Bernie will focus on the drawing techniques and skills used in drawing objects (such as shoes!). Places are limited and booking is essential. Enquiries and bookings to Knock Museum: T. (094) 9375034 /Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Our Collections: Knock Museum houses a collection of original Witness Testimonies dating back to 1879. Read them Here
T: (094) 93 75034
View our Historic Image Gallery